Ice Dragon 2016

This past weekend, I had the privelege of being the vigil wrangler for THL Marek Viacheldrago as he sat and contemplated elevation to the Order of the Chivalry. Marek was one of my first mentors when I started fighting, and it made me incredibly happy to see the Order recognize what many of us had seen in him from the start. Being included in his day and hearing the great words spoken about him has made this one of my more memorable events, and I’m grateful to Sir Marek, his wife Sybilla, and his knight Sir Tristen for trusting me with the task of coordinating the vigil. Normally a Peer holds this position and is planning it out for more than just a couple of weeks, but Gulfnado saw his vigil quickly moved from Gulf Wars to Ice Dragon, and there were many of us who pulled it off. I first need to thank Mistress Hildarun Hugelmann, Mistress Chrestienne de Waterdene, Sir Tristen Sexwulf, Master Janos Meszaros, and of course, Lady Sybilla, for their guidance in planning and executing all and various parts of the vigil. Hilda and Chrestienne did the bulk of manning the vigil book, and Lady Aine ny Alain, Lord Sasson della Sancta Victoria, THL Darian Valski, and Sir Ian Kennovan contributed to the food. Hilda also contributed pitchers, and Sir Stefan and Mistress Marsi contributed some platters and bowls. Sir Guido, Sir Alric of the Mists, Baroness Osa, Lord Olaf Steinabrjotr, and Lady MacKenna Henderson helped with set-up and tear-down.

Sitting just a sheet-wall away, also sitting vigil before her elevation to the Laurel, was Baroness Laurencia of Carlisle, who also holds a special place in the day’s memories. When my fiance, THL Darian, had first entered the SCA, it was Laurencia and her husband Edval who took him in and helped guide and clothe him. Laurencia accomplished something I still have not — getting Darian to sit down in front of a sewing machine! I was honored to contribute food to her vigil spread well, and those recipes will follow soon.

There is so much to say about this year’s Ice Dragon, but I had to get my thank you’s out first. I’m so grateful to everyone! Thank you!!

One comment

Leave a Reply

